

# **HPS EC Report**

S. Stepanyan (JLAB)

HPS Collaboration meeting

JLAB, November 15 – 17, 2021





### **HPS Executive Committee**

- Members: Tim Nelson, Maurik Holtrop, John Jaros, Stepan Stepanyan, Marzio de Napoli, Omar Moreno, Norman Graf, Rafo Paremuzyan
- Website on confluence with Meeting Summaries

https://confluence.slac.stanford.edu/display/hpsg/HPS+Executive+Committee

#### **HPS Executive Committee**

Created by john a. jaros, last modified by Sepan Stepanyan on May 15, 2020

Present Committee membership: Spokespeople plus Omar Moreno, Rafayel Paremuzyan, John Jaros, Marzio de Napoli, and Norman Graf. Stepan Stepanyan as chair.

The role of the executive committee is outlined in the bylaws(pdf). Minutes of EC Meetings are summarized in the meeting list below.

The EC formally approves thesis topic proposals in accord with HPS Thesis Policy 2.pdf .Approved and suggested topics

are listed in HPS Thesis Topics.ppt .

The EC has established a policy for shift taking, given here: HPS Shift Policy 3.0.pdf.

The EC has reviewed and collected procedures for blinding, analyzing, presenting, and publishing HPS physics results. They include rules for presenting HPS results in theses. They are here:Procedures for Presenting and Publishing Physics Results in HPS (003).DOCX

The HPS Executive Committee originally consisted of F-X Girod, M. Graham, T. Maruyama, T. Nelson, and the three HPS spokespeople, M. Holtrop, S. Stepanyan, and J. Jaros (Chair). Regular members were first elected early in February 2012. Girod and Maruyama were elected to 2-year terms; Graham and Nelson to one-year terms. An election for new members was conducted at the June Collaboration meeting, 2013. In this election, T. Nelson was re-elected, and R. Dupré was elected. At the June Collaboration meeting of 2014, F-X Girod and Takashi Maruyama were re-elected for another 2 year term. At the July Collaboration meeting of 2015 in Orsay, Tim Nelson and Raphael Dupre were re-elected for another 2-year term.

At the April Collaboration meeting in 2016 at SLAC, Nathan Baltzell and Matt Graham were elected, replacing F-X Girod and Takashi Maruyama.

At the May 2018 Collaboration meeting at JLAB, John Jaros stepped down as a co-spokesperson and EC chair. Tim Nelson became a co-spokesperson of HPS together with Maurik Holtrop and Stepan Stepanyan. Collaboration reelected Raphael Dupre and elected a new member, Marzio de Napoli, to EC.

At the November 2019 collaboration meeting at JLAB collaboration elected Rafayel Paremuzyan and Omar Moreno to replace Nathan Baltezell and Matt Graham.

At the May 2020 virtual meeting, collaboration elected Norman Graf to replace Raphael Dupre, Marzio de Napoli was reelected for another term.





### EC activities

Since the last collaboration meeting, we had only 3 meetings focused on

- preparations to the upcoming run
  - regular updates on hardware, DAQ, DQM
  - software developments
  - discussed, approved the run documentation
  - organization of regular, remote, and expert shifts

and yes, we had a very successful run! Thanks to everyone!

organization of this meeting





## EC election results

#### Candidates:

- Cameron Bravo
- Rafayel Paremuzyan
- Omar Moreno
- Nathan Baltzell
- Matt Solt

Thanks to candidates for running and thanks to everyone who voting!

#### and the new members of EC are:

- Rafayel Paremuzyan
- Cameron Bravo





## What next for the new EC

- Publication of 2016 results
- Processing the 2019 data set
- Complete the calibration of the 2021 data

### But before that

Elect a new chair – my 2-year term ended 1.5 years ago.
 This is my last EC chair report – thanks to every member of EC for a great support, could not pull this off without your help





## Next Collaboration meeting

### May/June 2022, remote, organized by SLAC

At the next collaboration meeting we should elect or re-elect (end of 2-year cycle):

- 2 new members of the Executive Committee to replace Norman Graf and Marzio de Napoli
- 2 new members for PPC to replace Gabriel Charles and Rouven Essig



