GHP Business Meeting Fellowship and Prizes

Dave Gaskell (GHP Chair-elect)

Jefferson Lab

April 15, 2021

GHP Fellowships - 2020

- 2020 GHP APS Fellowship Committee
 - Dave Gaskell (JLab), Chair
 - Renee Fatemi (University of Kentucky)
 - Daniel Phillips (Ohio University)
 - Mike Snow (Indiana University)
- Committee met twice virtually with additional communication via email
- Many excellent nominations for APS fellowship
- In 2020, GHP was eligible to recommend two candidates for Fellowship. This number is driven by GHP membership in 2019, GHP was only able to recommend one candidate for Fellowship

2020 GHP Fellow

Barbara Pasquini

(University of Pavia)

For important work developing and improving theoretical tools, including dispersion relations, light-front models, and Wigner distributions which increase the sensitivity of both lowand high-energy experiments such as Compton scattering and tomography, to the fundamental structure of hadrons.

2020 GHP Fellow

David Richards

(Jefferson Lab)

For seminal contributions to the understanding of hadron properties in lattice quantum chromodynamics, especially in the areas of hadron spectroscopy and hadron structure.

GHP Fellowships - 2021

- 2021 GHP Fellowship Committee
 - Julia Velkovska (Vanderbilt University), Chair
 - Sebastian Kuhn (Old Dominion University)
 - Barbara Pasquini (University of Pavia)
 - Mike Strickland (Kent State University)
- Please consider nominating your colleague or collaborator
 - Criterion: exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.
- Nomination Deadline: Tuesday, June 1
- Nomination instructions available at APS web site

https://www.aps.org/programs/honors/fellowships/

GHP Dissertation Award

- 2021 GHP Dissertation Award Committee
 - Garth Huber (University of Regina), Chair
 - Alexei Bazavov (Michigan State University)
 - Carl Carlson (College of William and Mary)
 - Nilanga Liyanage (University of Virginia)
 - Julia Velkovska (Vanderbilt University)
- Criteria
 - Dissertation quality: 40%
 - Student contributions: 30%
 - Impact: 20%
 - Broader community involvement: 10%
- Deadline for 2023 award nominations is September 2022

2021 GHP Dissertation Award

Weizhi Xiong
(Duke University)

For his outstanding contibution to the proton charge radius experiment (PRad) at Jefferson Lab and especially for his analysis of the PRad experimental data leading to a precise determination of the proton charge radius value.

Friday morning plenary session

